So I showed her.
Watching Finding Nemo. Still stand by the fact that Monsters Inc. is cuter!
One day I decided to stop wishing I was doing something cool with my life and to just do it. This is my story.
Blog time!
Well, Christmas is over, New Year's coming up! Already half done my two weeks away from PEI. I just keep telling myself "4 more months." And since I had told myself "It's just 8 months, you can do it" back in August, I think I can handle just 4 months. I should be busy for the 4 months, so it should speed by fairly quickly.
Ugh, I'm thirsty and just got myself settled into bed...what a conundrum.
Got myself a GPS from the parents for Christmas this year. Didn't get a whole lot for Christmas - we didn't do sibling gifts, so that cut back significantly on the gifts...and I don't really miss them in all honesty. I miss shopping for the siblings, but I don't feel like I'm missing a big haul or anything. My GPS rocks and is allowing me to pursue a new hobby - goecaching!
Geocaching is a hobby where people have hidden things around the world and then put up the coordinates on the goecaching website (www.geocaching.com). Then the other players can type in the coordinates on their GPS and go find it! It's like a massive treasure hunt. I went with Andrew and we found one and then I went with him and the parents today and we managed to NOT find 5 of them. But it got us out and active, so that's good. I'll go look for the ones I didn't find again - tomorrow maybe. I think it's probably funner to go caching in the summer - we probably would have spent more time looking for each one today if it wasn't cold out.
I bought myself a Christmas present - Home Simpson slippers. Basically, they rock. I have a slippers thing - the way some women have a shoe thing. I restrain myself a lot, but I love getting new slippers. And I've been eyeing these ones for a few years now - finally broke down and bought them - managed to get them on sale too during Boxing week! Now I can walk around with Homer chewing on my feet.
Anyway, it's late...4:20 on my computer, which means 2:20 Saskatchewan time - I didn't bother to change the computer clock for this visit, just my watch. So yeah, I should probably sleep or play more of my computer game or something. :P
Have a good night/day all!
Back in Saskatchewan and it is definitely COLD here!
Now, I stand by my opinion that I prefer the -30 to the rain of PEI.
But now that I've lived in both places, I wouldn't mind living somewhere that's as warm as PEI, but not as damn wet. I'll have to look.
Flight home was not too bad. We left Ottawa 1 hr 40 minutes late, but given the storms in Ontario and the cancellations going through Toronto, I think I'm pretty lucky that I was only delayed a couple hours. Being on a plane for 4 hours sucked though. Going through Toronto is nice b/c it splits the flying time evenly in two. Going through Ottawa means a quick trip from Charlottetown to Ottawa, but a long one from Ottawa to Saskatoon. However, the Ottawa airport is CLASSY! If I had to get stuck in an airport, based on the airports I've been to, I would absolutely pick Ottawa. They have business centres to set up laptops and couches for sleeping. Also, a waterfall.
Had some fun in Saskatoon - not nearly enough, but it'll do me for the moment. Went to a wedding - two my callers who met at the call centre and fell in love! Very exciting!!
I'm crazy tired. Slept for 12 hours last night, which I never do anymore, but I've been ready for bed since about 2pm. Hopefully one more good night and I'll be all caught up.
Overall, glad to have a break from PEI! I'm somewhat eager to go back, but not b/c I want to be there - just b/c going back means that I'm slowly making my way towards May when I will be once again free to roam wherever I please!
We finished our gingerbread village today! It's officially at the hospital! It turned out great and we got a lot of good comments! I'm supposed to be in the paper for it - they took a pic with two of us. Overall, I think the village looked great, and I'm just really happy it's done! One more thing to check off the list! Once we delivered it and got back to school, I cleaned up the room we had been borrowing from the golf program to store/work on the project and I also put away everything on our storage trolley. So gingerbread is officially put to rest for this year!
We only have 3 days of school left. They don't do production on Friday, so we're going to clean on Thursday and be done! On one hand I'm a bit pissed, as I would have flown home a day earlier if I had known we wouldn't have class on Friday anyway. But oh well. I still have my Brownie Christmas party Thursday night, and this just means I get to sleep until 10:30 on Friday instead of being in class until 10:30. It should make that day a lot less stressful.
Went out for pizza tonight with some of the girls. I think we're all at a point where we don't want to sit at home alone and think about how long this week is, so we keep going out. Which is fine by me! My classmates are awesome - by far the best thing about this place. If it wasn't for them, I'd be outta here by now for sure.
Anyway, I really should sleep. It's 11pm and I have to be up at 4:30, lol. We stayed out too late, plus the service was SO SLOW. Oh well! Only 3 more days of class!!
Apparently Iraqi journalists do. It took 11 years, but now we know Austin, now we know.
Well, in one week, I'll be on my way to the airport to wait for my flight. I'm really praying the weather is good and my flight isn't delayed/cancelled. B/c if it is, I will be stranded with nowhere to live, b/c rez is kicking me out. Ugh, I hate rez. Turns out my roommate is moving out...today. And told me...yesterday. Wow. So now I need kitchen stuff b/c I was using hers. And I'll have to get used to a new roommate in January. Not cool. So not how I wanted my year to go.
I really just want the next week to go by really fast so that I can have two weeks away from it all.
Right now I'm just waiting for the rez office to phone me so that I can go pick up my keycard for next week so I can get in/out of my room. Then I think I'm going to just sleep away the rest of the day. :)
That's right. I'm talking about Old Dutch Sour Cream and Cheddar Potato Chips. I love them. They don't have them here and it's been crushing my soul a little bit every day since I've been here.
Please feel free to mail them to me.
Apparently I'm supposed to update this thing. Oops.
School is going. It's been pretty drama-riffic lately but I really don't want to talk about that online. Online is very wide open.
My flambe dessert KICKED ASS. Whoooo!! Chef Pam helped me flambe it and it was about the coolest thing I've done in school so far...ever. Even cooler than the volcano thing. (Yes, that's right, I said it)
Ack, power flicker. It was flickering at school. It is pouring BUCKETS outside. Freakin' ocean places. I hate the rain, I'm sick of it. It's such a mix of rain and snow, it's baffling. I think the weather here is crazy...SK is nothing compared to this place. Want an example? It was snowing out, yet THUNDERING AND LIGHTENING. That's right. Insanity.
I'm on cafeteria now, sailing to Christmas. I have one assignment I want to get half done before I go home for Xmas. They gave it to us in October, it's not due until March, and I know it's going to slip through the cracks. But I have enough info now to get it half done, so I figure that if I have it half done and it slips through the cracks, that's only half left to do during the all nighter the night before it's due. :D
Brownies is still awesome! We're going carolling with the girls tomorrow, so that will be a lot of fun!
Anyway, other than a quick trip to the gym in the afternoon, I was at school for 12 hours today, and I'm tired. I'm on AMs this rotation and am walking, so that means I'm up at 4:30 and usually out of the house at 5:15ish. And it's POURING RAIN and has been both days so far. And it's not looking like it's going to stop before tomorrow. Stupid rain. So, I want to go try and get dry, sleep, then hope that my clothes/coat are semi-dry before morning so that I can have a sort of comfortable walk to school. Wish me luck!

