I have decided to run a half Marathon!
Insane, I know. However, I am quite sure that only insane people run half or full marathons because what sane person would?
Last year I volunteered with the Queen City Marathon. Why? Well, I was new to the city and volunteering is a good way to get out and about in the city. One day at work I happened to glance at the back of a paper and saw an ad looking for volunteers, so I volunteered! It was a lot of fun and I had 3 great days! And I began to think, "This sure seems like a lot of fun. Everybody is so excited!" So then I wondered, "Can I run a half marathon?" I still don't know the answer to that question, but I'm going to run one anyway!
Why run a half marathon? Wouldn't walking one be the better starting point? Well, if you enter the half-marathon walk you are not allowed to run. But by entering the regular half-Marathon I can run of course, but also walk. So, it's like the walking one but I can run when I feel like it.
I've been reading up on marathon training and recently bought a book that includes a training schedule. I decided to start yesterday as that is 4 months exactly before the marathon and my book outlines a 4 month program! Handy! So, I look at my training program and oops! I missed Sunday. Oh well. Onto Monday. Oh look! Monday is a rest day! Awesome! Great way to start my marathon training!
So, today is Day 2 of training, but really my first day of doing anything. What a craptastic day to start. It's been raining all day and is still raining. And my running shoes are made of mesh. Lovely. But, I got on my clothes, looked myself in the mirror, said, "How cool! I look like a runner!" and set off. I think that was the last moment that I looked like a runner. I was supposed to run/walk 35 minutes. Here's how that went:
30 seconds in: Oh holy crap my calves are burning - this must be the pain that was mentioned.
1 minute in: Boy am I glad I've been working out and working with a trainer for a few months.
3 minutes in: Time to start running - had my warmup!
5 minutes in: That's enough running.
7 Minutes in: Splashed a bunch of water right on the mesh of my shoe - socks are now wet.
9 Minutes in: Starting to realize I was right before I left - I did have to go to the bathroom!
11 minutes in: Wondering why my body couldn't have just gone to the bathroom when I was home, but noooo, it just couldn't right then.
13 minutes in: Starting to head back - I know it's a bit early, but the path ahead is muddy and surely it will take longer to get back than it does to do the first half?
17 minutes in: Desperately have to go to the bathroom. Man those trees look tempting. Too out in the open though.
20 minutes in: Try one last desperate run. It doesn't last long. Walking from here on out.
23 minutes in: Don't eat Dairy Queen before going running.
25 minutes in: Home is in sight - contemplating whether I can walk 10 more minutes.
27 minutes in: Screw it, I'm making a bee-line for the bathroom!
29 minutes in: Ended 6 minutes short of my goal.
So, that was my first run. What a shitty day. There were lessons learned and positives and negatives. Here we go.
Lesson Learned: Having to poo while running is awful. Also, apparently running makes half the food in your body go downwards and the other half go upwards into your throat.
Cons: Did not finish my 35 minute run. Didn't run as much as I would have liked, much more walking occurred.
Pros: I got my running gear on and went out for a run in the wet, rainy weather! I began my training and now I can only go up from here!
One day I decided to stop wishing I was doing something cool with my life and to just do it. This is my story.
Tuesday, April 13, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


1 comments:
You should just get mechanical legs that run for you.
Post a Comment