Well, the Olympics have begun and I have to admit...I love the Olympics! It's such a great event that showcases not only national pride, but very simply is a great example of people making their dreams come true. Even if you don't win a medal, just GETTING to the Olympics is a great achievement.
Of course, winning a medal has got to be one of the greatest feelings ever. Watching Chen Xiexia win the first gold medal of the games, and for the host country, China, was amazing. It was clear, from the look on her face, that it was the happiest moment of her life.
There are many examples of overcoming adversity as well. Take, for example, Canadian gymnast Kyle Shewfelt (2004 Gold Medalist) who one year ago broke both his legs. Although he didn't get past the preliminaries, he still made it to the Olympics. That's a huge accomplishment and shows that drive, desire, and hard work can really make your dreams come true.
I also think that having the Olympics in China is a great thing. There's been a lot of controversy, but that's a good thing. I really don't think the world understands China as a country. We make a lot of assumptions and listen to a lot of stereotypes. My hopes for these games is that a few more people will be educated about China and about what a great country it is.
I feel like I'm not being very eloquent in this post, so I'm going to wrap it up simply with...
GO FOR THE GOLD CANADA!!!
One day I decided to stop wishing I was doing something cool with my life and to just do it. This is my story.
Monday, August 11, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


5 comments:
See, I have issue with China hosting... I think that the IOC should have set some human rights goals that needed to be met before China could host. I just don't see the reasoning behind building billions of dollars of venues when so many people are starving.
The running joke in our living room has been placing bets on which limbs Chinese athletes will have cut off if they don't win medals.
Otherwise, I'm perplexed about this whole business of a watercube. It's a pretty nice pool though.
What better way to shed light on Chinese human rights issues though, than to have the entire world focused on them through the Olympic games?
The billions of dollars would have been spent elsewhere building venues in another country. And the Chinese wouldn't have used that money for human rights. So, at least this way, there's been years and years of debate, talk, arguments, media coverage of the human rights issues in China. I think it's opened a lot of eyes.
The Water Cube is just the nickname. :P And yes, it's an awesome pool. And the French messed up BIG TIME in it and gave the gold medal to the Americans...tsk, tsk.
Holy moley, you're blogging!
Haha, yes! I've been sucked back. Big changes in my life brought me back.
Now I just have to go find all the blogs, like yours, that I read back in the day, and add them back to my bookmarks!
That relay was bogus. And they should have trounced the Americans!!! What an exciting race, though. Did you see the splits they were doing!!!??? SECONDS ahead of the world record they had broke in the morning!! That's something. I was looking at the splits and trying to remember my fastest 50 free - I think I got it down to 32 seconds long course.... but of course that was a really long time ago. They were doing the splits in like 22 seconds.
Post a Comment