Thursday, September 04, 2008

Knives!



Yup! There they are! My $300 Wusthof's! :)

I need to get them engraved when I get a chance (and find out where an engraving place is).

Overall, a busy day. Was on the way to school by 7:30. Got there at about 8:15-ish. We were told to be there at 8:30, but of course they didn't start until 9am. You know, for the people who are late. I can't wait until class starts and the late people just get locked out of class. I shouldn't have to wait because somebody else can't read a schedule and get where they need to be on time.

So, this morning we got introductions for all the staff. I remember a few of them. Definitely remember the two Pastry Chef Instructors - Chef Pam and Chef Richard. I think my army cadet training is going to come in handy. You can definitely see how there's a specific hierarchy and behaviour that's expected. The chefs are either called, for example, Chef Richard, or sir or ma'am. Reminds me of cadets.

We got our schedules. So, next week we have Serve Safe (food and kitchen safety I'm assuming) from 9-5 every day. Then we have some core classes the next week (we have Computer Skills and Business Communications as far as I know). As well we have 2 and a half days of CPR/First Aid/WHIMIS. Then we start getting into Pastry Art Theory. And trust me, there's a lot. The textbooks are HUGE. Every Monday for the whole year basically is just core classes or theory classes. So, kitchen is really only 4 days a week for the most part (might be some exceptions). This means that the 6:30 days are only 4 days a week once they start. We don't know yet, once we get into the kitchen (September 23) if we're going to be going in the morning or later. Either we have kitchen from 6:30-10 and then theory from 10-12 or we have theory from 10-12 and then kitchen from 12-4. (Maybe only until 3:30 - the schedule isn't super clear). So, I only need to walk to class on the 6:30 days and only to class, not home.

The Pastry students are in charge of screating pastries for the Lucy Maud Montgomery dining room upstairs. The Culinary students create desserts for the cafeteria in the basement, but we support them when needed. So, if they're short on deserts, then we'll fill in the gap.

We also had a session on extracurricular activities - hopefully I can find something. Then a quick session on the health/dental plan.

After that, we went upstairs to fit for uniforms. Uniforms are a BIG deal. Regardless of where you are, you need a uniform on in class. But you cannot wear it off the property. If your uniform is dirty, you're not allowed in class. They wash everything except the pants - we're in charge of the pants. We get 3 coats (stitched with our names!) and 3 pairs of checkered pants. They wash the coats for us - it's a "dirty for a clean" exchange type model. So, it's important that you give the laundry people a dirty one or they won't give you a clean one. And if you don't have a clean one, you don't get into class. We also must always have steel-toed shoes on - the profs check before you come in the kitchen. The uniform consist then of - black steel-toed shoes, black socks, checkered pants, chef's jacket, bowtie. And when in the kitchen we also have an apron, side towel, and hat. And of course there's rules for piercings (none!), beards (you have to wear a beard net if it's too long...never knew such a thing existed), and other things. It's pretty intense, but I'm sure it'll become routine soon enough.

We then of course got our KNIVES! Yup, paid $300 for them - pretty exciting to get them. It's just one of those things that you carry with you everywhere.

Then we had free lunch. Yay for Orientation!

For the afternoon we had some group trivia, then a group scavenger hunt around downtown. Wow, thought we were going to die. It got REALLY hot out, we were walking alllll over the place, taking pictures at various places. Was really fun though - got a chance to talk to some people who will be taking classes in the building. Also gave me another chance to wander the downtown - I still want to go this weekend and check everything out a bit slower. But I found out where the Charlottetown Centre is - that's the main building for Holland College. That's where the gym is and the bookstore. The gym mostly sucks, so won't be using it. There are others around to use. And that one is really out of my way. Would only go there if it was good. But, good to find the place! After the scavenger hunt we were done, so a girl helped me find the Charlottetown Centre again. I bought a new bookbag - my U of S one was really pretty much wrecked, so I didn't bring it with. And I really need an actual bookbag, not a sidebag if I'm going to be walking. I also got a bus pass there. Only $75 for four months. Otherwise it's $50 a month. So, a pretty good deal! Took a bus back and all went well. Definitely a smaller bus system than Saskatoon. Which is in the end biting me in the ass because there's no bus running at 6am. It's such a small system that it apparently doesn't need to run that early. So, I'll be walking for my 6:30 classes. Oh well.

Anyway...just did some errands after that, had supper, and am hanging around here. Have to be back there at 8:30 tomorrow, but plan on taking the bus. The bus only takes me to the end of University Avenue. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from there to get to my school. Still, a whole lot better than 40-50 minutes walking.

6 comments:

The Navigator said...

You might find that things loosen up a little after a while...but who knows. Either way your only there for 8 months so It shouldn't be too bad.

Mrs. Squish said...

Sounds POSH. I likes. Does pastry include streudel? If so, could you make us a streudel?

Soulfood said...

It IS posh! Posh like the army.

Let me look up strudel in my textbooks...

YES! There is a recipe for strudel dough and then Apple Strudel and Cranberry Pear Strudel. Now let's check the other textbook...

No strudel in the other one...but there is streusel. Whatever that is.

And loosening up? From the sounds of it, it's welcome to the restaurant industry. You don't get to do whatever you want until you have climbed the chain of command - just like the army. Oh well - I can do that. And I know from experience that it ROCKS at the top!

Anonymous said...

those are some sexy knives Shanna!

P.S. You should get a pic of you in your uniform!

Soulfood said...

Haha, I will! Once we get them. They have to be sent away b/c we get our names embroidered on them. And they haven't told us when we're getting them.

Anonymous said...

A little turned on by those knives right now. That's probably not right.