Silly school and studying.
I have to say, I'm loving getting back into the whole "student schedule." The just completely messed up schedule that no normal person would love. But I love it! When I was finishing my degree, I couldn't wait until I had a Monday-Friday 9-5 job. Well, I sort of had one, and it's not as great as I though. I love the messed-up-ness of a student schedule.
The studying...bleh. Got hit with it hard this week. We are taking ServSafe (www.servsafe.com) this week. It's like the FoodSafe course you take when you work in a restaurant...except this is for managers/owners and is INTENSE. Instead of one day, it's a full week course. Problem though, is that our prof, awesome as he is, is a slacker. We take a break once an hour, have left at least an hour early every day, taken 1 1/2 hour lunchbreaks, spend more time telling stories than going over material, and are currently 2 1/2 chapters behind. And who gets to make up those chapter? Us, at home. And we're writing our exam on Thursday for some reason, not Friday. So, we have tomorrow and Thursday (before the exam...ie. no study time) to finish the next...8 1/2 chapters...and we've only done 6 1/2 in the 2 days we've had so far. So, I'm attempting to get through the material on my own a little bit ahead of him, but it's rough.
Food Safety is a mixture of really boring, common sense things and really hard to memorize biology/chemistry information. For example, they feel the need to teach us to send people home who are vomiting. Really!? Who doesn't know this!?? And then for a second example, I have to memorize pathogens, such as Clostridium perfringens gastroenteritis, what causes it, what food is commonly associated with it, the most common symptoms of the illness, and what the main prevention measure is for it. And that's just one.
Now, it's a 90 question multiple choice exam. Only 80 of the questions count, we don't know which 80 though, and we need to get 60 of them correct. Chances are I'll pass, but I would like to pass with flying colours. Hence, the studying.
Anyway, figured I'd give an update. Now, back to studying! You'll see me on Thursday night when the exam is over. :)
One day I decided to stop wishing I was doing something cool with my life and to just do it. This is my story.
About Me
Blog Archive
-
▼
2008
(68)
-
▼
September
(16)
- Picture Blog!
- Oh cruel fate...
- Ouch :(
- Oddities of PEI - Part 3 - Taxes
- And so it begins...
- Voting and The Bus!
- Exciting Week
- Residence Life - Part 2 - Internet
- Whoo Hoo!
- What a Week!
- Oddities about PEI - Part 2
- Who's Idea Was This?
- Residence Life - Part 1 - Laundry
- Oddities of PEI - Part 1 - Waste Management
- Knives!
- Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island (Long Post Ale...
-
▼
September
(16)
Tuesday, September 09, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


1 comments:
Good Luck...Just answer A for all of them.
Post a Comment