Monday, October 20, 2008

6 1/2 More Months...

Just met with the Residence Life Manager. I didn't get the written citation lifted, but she agreed to write on it that I slept through the alarm. I figure that way at least if I have a landlord in future who phones asking for a reference, it's made clear why I was issued a written citation. And that I didn't do anything wrong.

She basically told me to just not worry about it, it's going to stay there, but brush it off. It's not meant to be a punishment, regardless of the fact that it clearly is one. I'm not so good at brushing things like this off. I'm the goodie-two-shoes who never gets in trouble. Therefore, I don't handle getting in trouble well.

Basically her stance was, "It's not our responsibility to make sure people get out of the building." Which I was a little shocked at, but whatever. I'm not liking UPEI right now, so hey, why not just add to the reason pile? Their argument seems to be, "Well I lived there and it's pretty loud. I don't know how anybody could sleep through it." And my response is, "Well I did. So obviously it's quite possible." And when I mentioned that I hadn't even been around for a fire drill and that I was surprised at this as they were holding them over a week in September, she said, "I think there was only one that week and it was during the day." Which makes NO sense to me. Most residence students are at CLASS during the day, so that's a pretty useless fire drill in my opinion. Isn't the point for people to be home and to practice evacuating so you know what the fire alarm sounds like and where to go when it sounds?

Overall...I'm just not real happy right now. I'm not liking rez, I'm not liking Charlottetown...and I don't even know what to think of my course. I guess I'm liking it. It's the only thing keeping me here at the moment. Pretty much I'm just counting down the days until I can get out of here and go somewhere else. Unfortunately the days aren't going by all that quickly. 6 1/2 more months...

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Ooops, just slipped on the "kid/grandparent" friendly site! You must really be frustrated!! Hey those Riders!

Soulfood said...

Did I? Where!?

And if I just swore...and I'm not gonnna censor that. :P