So, I completely slept through a fire alarm tonight. My roommate even was knocking on my door to wake me up and she said she didn't hear a thing out of my room. I was just tired and asleep.
As a result of this, I got a written violation placed on my account for failure to evacuate the building during a fire alarm. One more and I have to pay a $100 fine and another after that and I get evicted and have to still pay all the rez fees.
I have to say I'm upset by this. It's upsetting to know that their fire system did NOT wake me up when there WAS INDEED a fire. Clearly there should be fire detectors/alarms IN the bedrooms.
And b/c of the failure of THEIR system to wake me up, I'm being punished.
Right at the moment I have to say I don't feel entirely safe living in this building knowing that.
One day I decided to stop wishing I was doing something cool with my life and to just do it. This is my story.
Thursday, October 16, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


3 comments:
If the system met the requirements there would be a horn & strobe light in your room & I would demand one be installed in my room in accordance with the National Fire Code of Canada
I'd also write a letter to the administration filing a formal complaint. Tell them you will be sending a similar letter to the Charlottetown Fire Department and the PEI rental Ombudsman.
While you haven't been fined yet, your safety is obviously at risk, and you're right, you shouldn't be punished for that.
Glad to hear you're ok.
At the moment, I have a meeting scheduled with the Residence Life Administrator for Monday. Figured I'd let myself calm down a touch so I could discuss it more calmly and have time to think about how I want to say what I have to say.
I also talked to somebody at my school about it to get some advice and she mostly concurred with what I was planning on doing.
One thing that befuddles me is why the RA didn't unlock my bedroom door to come get me. I tried today and it takes a PENNY to unlock it (yes, super secure, I know).
Post a Comment