That's it. The only reason I came back was because I figure I'll regret NOT coming back more than I'll regret coming back. Otherwise I would have flown here, packed up my stuff, and flown back to Western Canada.
So yeah, time to bitch about it, throw it up into words, then move on and stop being miserable.
REZ sucks! I hope my new roomie is good. I haven't been told her name or anything about her...I was promised an e-mail and have not received one. However, there is the name "Melisa" on our door, so I'm assuming I will be getting one named Melisa. She is not here now however.
Anyway...was supposed to fly home on Friday. Flight from Saskatoon to Montreal with a stop in Ottawa where I stayed on the plane. Then a flight from Montreal to Charlottetown. Get to the airport Friday morning - "That flight is cancelled." Turns out that it had mechanical problems in Ottawa the night before, and they couldn't get it out, so there was no plane for us to fly on. So, I told the lady that as long as I got there by Sunday I was good. Well, Sunday was the ONLY day she could get me there in a single day without having to stay overnight somewhere. So, I went for it. Fortunately my parents were already keeping their hotel one extra night b/c they were headed to Lake Lenore (and I tagged along) and didn't want to drive all the way back to Swift Current from Lake Lenore in one day. So, we really only had to extend the hotel one night which my parents awesomely did.
So this morning I wake up, check my flights...first one is ALREADY delayed an hour. Craptastic. My flight path today was Saskatoon-Toronto-Montreal-Charlottetown...changing planes each time. Estimated time of arrival in Toronto - 15 minutes before my plane there leaves for Montreal. Surprise, surprise, I missed my connection. Turns out the first plane was delayed b/c they got in late the night before and there's a mandatory rest period for flight crews, so they couldn't fly the plane until that time had lapsed. Anyway...we were all on and settled on that flight, but it took FOREVER to get the luggage on. Once we got going the TVs were working. I watched Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist...I thought it was good! I also got a free meal - it came with my ticket. Probably b/c my total elapsed time from leaving Saskatoon to arriving in Ctown was 12 hours. This was the first flight where I'd had a female captain...yay!
Once in Toronto, they rebooked us to another Montreal flight - basically one leaves every hour. So, in essence, instead of having a large Montreal layover, I had a large Toronto one. Which was good. The Air Canada terminal of Toronto Pearson is WAY better than the crappy WestJet one. But either of them are better than Montreal...what a DUMP! Clearly run down. I had to go through a tunnel to get to my terminal and it reminded me of the tunnel at the U of S. The flight to Montreal was not full, so I was alone in my aisle...it was the biggest plane I've ever been on. That was a quick flight...50 minutes in the air. It was also my first "Ugh, Canada is French, isn't it?" type experience. :P Just waiting for the plane there was a lot of French being spoken. And it was the first time where everything was said in French then repeated in English instead of the other way around. The flight attendant greeted us with "Hello. Bonsoir." And I think she could tell immediately with people like me who didn't know a lick of French. My clearly English, "Hi."
So, got to Montreal and just asked the person at the desk to help me find my gate since I'd never been in that airport before. She directed me to the tunnel and definitely as I went towards the tunnel the airport got crappier. I had about 50 minutes before my plane was supposed to take off, but of course it was half an hour late. The plane was late getting there, then there was a mixup and they came on and asked on guy to leave and some other guy took his place. Then they came back on and made that guy leave and put the first guy back on the plane!
Anyway...finally got back. There is definitely a crapload of snow. Some of the drifts are taller than me. However, they clear the streets really well here, so that's good. Had to wait for a cab, but got one and shared it with another lady who was waiting - they only had 2 cabs waiting there and probably 20 people wanting cabs.
Got back to rez safe and sound. Rez sucks.
This trip home was in some ways better than the first time I came here and in other ways worse. Better in that I wasn't nearly so depressed to have nobody meet me at the airport...I could have cared less. It was also nice to recognize the city as the cab drove through it. And nice to have a bed with a bedspread to come back to. Worse in that I didn't want to come back. The first thing that greeted me at rez was a poster about mandatory meetings. (I think it was tonight so I missed it, yay!) But it definitely reminded me of how much I hate rez. I'm hungry and nothing is open this time of night and I cleaned out my cupboards before I left b/c I'd be gone for 2 weeks (most normal people do this...). As much as I only have 4 months left and before I had 8, these 4 months seem like they'll be longer...I think b/c I know what I have coming up.
But, I AM excited to see my classmates tomorrow! Definitely missed that bunch! I really hope everybody comes back. A small part of me thinks that everybody will. But perhaps that will be wrong and 1 or 2 will be missing. Anyway, it is now 2:47am and I have class at 8am. I should try and nap perhaps. Night all!
One day I decided to stop wishing I was doing something cool with my life and to just do it. This is my story.
Monday, January 05, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


1 comments:
Sweet, well that took up a couple minutes of time! THANKS! Your rez sounds like crap! UofR was not nearly that anal and annoying, but still shitty none the less!
Post a Comment