Monday, November 17, 2008

Monotony

Well, the blog is getting boring, but so is life.

I'm starting to realize that I LOVE making bread. (Did I mention that in a recent post? Well, no matter, it can be repeated.) It can suck at times, but overall, I don't find it nearly as tedious to roll out 50 rolls as I did the first time I did it. And I'm slowly getting better at shaping my loaves. And there can be something a bit therapeutic about kneading dough - it's easy to just zone out in the kitchen and think about stuff.

Afternoon kitchen is interesting. I've got a different chef for it, so there are new rules and new expectations. Overall, it's not nearly as bad as what everybody made it out to be. On Fridays we spend an hour cleaning the kitchen really well. I heard of the horrors of that - it was nothing. I think some of these people have just never worked in a kitchen before and don't know how to clean. I have to say that cleaning the already clean barracks for three hours at the Dundurn Army Base when I was in cadets was wayyyy worse. Anyway, what I like best about the afternoon kitchen is that although the chef is a bit more harsh and yes, I do get snapped at, the fact is, everybody gets snapped at and overall I've thought it's mostly for good reason. She's whipping people into shape who I've been in kitchen with for weeks and been thinking "Ugh, I wish they would ________." Sometimes she could say things in a nicer way - but we all could, so whatever. The fact is, I like that she's making sure that we are doing what we should be. For example, it annoys me when somebody from another group comes and uses our area. She doesn't let that happen. So awesome. I also like that she is incredibly skilled and knowledgeable. She knows how to explain things very well. She just has an expectation that you are to pay attention.

Overall, I like morning kitchen better. The reasons being that it's a bit more relaxed, you come into a clean kitchen, and you're done by noon. But afternoon isn't bad. The worst thing about afternoon is that it makes for a shitty day. You are there from 10:30-4:30, so I often don't get home until 7:30 or 8pm by the time I do all my things downtown - hit up both libraries (I have become a total library fiend), go to the gym, go to any meetings I might have. It just seems like the days are longer and I'm more tired.

I went to a day long workshop for Girl Guides on Saturday. Some of the sessions sucked, but some were really fun! Myself and one of the other leaders from my unit went to one session on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) together. She's younger like me and we had a BLAST. We got to play with all sorts of fun stuff, like corn starch and water. Is it a solid? Is it a liquid? Who cares!? I went to a session on geocaching, which I had somehow never heard of. I now want to make it a hobby. Which means I need a GPS. I will be looking on EBay. :D Overall, I'm glad I joined Girl Guides - it reminds me a lot of SADD. Just a similar type of setup for a non-profit organization, just bigger. I think I'll be with it for many years to come, regardless of where I end up moving.

I've been looking at places to work in the future. I really like the look of the Fairmont in Whistler. My only problem is that the place where I'd live is fairly small. But it's the Olympic Venue in 2010, which is pretty kick ass. Check it out here and let me know if you have any thoughts/comments. http://www.fairmont.com/whistler/

3 comments:

Mrs. Squish said...

do it!!!!!!!! get us some room discounts!!

The Navigator said...

n pinpoint a spot to within a couple centimeters. DO THAT CANADIAN TIRE!! Mine also costs about $70,000 and isn't actually mine..even though i know how to use it better than anyone and use it more than anyone.

The Navigator said...

Sorry, something happened there, It's supposed to start with: "My GPS is better, it ca"